How To Read The Shatter Me Series In Order?

The Shatter Me series is a popular set of books known for its gripping story and complex characters. It’s a journey through a dystopian world where the protagonist, Juliette Ferrars, possesses a lethal touch. This series has captured the hearts of readers worldwide, making it essential to read the books in order.

In this article, we will discuss how to read the Shatter Me series in order. We’ll provide a straightforward guide to the sequence of the novels and novellas, ensuring you get the most out of Juliette’s story without any confusion.

Understanding Shatter Me Series

The Shatter Me series is a young adult dystopian thriller written by Tahereh Mafi. It’s known for its unique narrative style, particularly the use of strikethrough text to represent the protagonist’s thought process. The series blends elements of dystopian fiction, romance, and supernatural powers.

Here’s a brief overview to help you get a grasp of the series:

Core Concept

The story revolves around Juliette Ferrars, a 17-year-old girl with a lethal touch, making her isolated and feared by others. The world she lives in is dystopian, governed by a repressive regime called The Reestablishment, which aims to control everything, including food, speech, and other resources, under the guise of restoring order.

Main Characters

  • Juliette Ferrars: The protagonist, whose touch is fatal. Her journey from isolation to becoming a key figure in the fight against The Reestablishment is central to the series.
  • Aaron Warner: Initially introduced as an antagonist, the commander of Sector 45 and son of the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment. His complex relationship with Juliette is a significant aspect of the series.
  • Adam Kent: A soldier in The Reestablishment who has a past with Juliette. He’s one of the first to show her kindness in years, complicating her feelings and loyalties.
  • Kenji Kishimoto: A charismatic and humorous character who becomes Juliette’s friend and ally. He plays a crucial role in the resistance against The Reestablishment.

Series Overview

  • Shatter Me: The first book introduces Juliette and her unique power, her struggles with isolation, and her initial interactions with Warner and Adam.
  • Unravel Me: Juliette joins the resistance, further explores her powers, and her relationships with Warner and Adam become more complicated.
  • Ignite Me: The resistance plans to take down The Reestablishment. Juliette’s understanding of herself and her feelings for Warner and Adam evolve.
  • Restore Me, Defy Me, and Imagine Me: These books further expand the world, diving deeper into the characters’ backgrounds, the nature of their powers, and the political intrigue surrounding The Reestablishment.

Themes and Style

  • Identity and Power: The series explores themes of self-discovery, empowerment, and the journey to find one’s place in the world.
  • Love and Relationships: Complex relationships and romantic entanglements play a significant role, highlighting themes of trust, betrayal, and growth.
  • Resistance and Rebellion: The fight against a tyrannical regime underscores the importance of hope, courage, and collaboration in the face of oppression.

Complete Shatter Me Series In Order

To dive into the “Shatter Me” series by Tahereh Mafi in order, you’ll want to follow this list which includes the main novels, novellas, and any additional books that contribute to the full storyline. The series unfolds through a mix of intense emotions, character development, and thrilling plot twists. Here’s how you can read them in sequence:

Main Novels

  1. Shatter Me (2011) – The story begins with Juliette’s isolation and her eventual escape from the asylum.
  2. Unravel Me (2013) – Juliette joins the resistance and struggles with her feelings for Warner and Adam.
  3. Ignite Me (2014) – The fight against The Reestablishment intensifies, and Juliette must decide where her loyalties lie.
  4. Restore Me (2018) – The continuation of Juliette’s story as Supreme Commander, facing new challenges and secrets.
  5. Defy Me (2019) – Juliette’s past and future collide, revealing shocking truths about her family and powers.
  6. Imagine Me (2020) – The conclusion of Juliette’s journey, where she faces off against The Reestablishment once and for all.


To get a fuller understanding of the characters and their motivations, you might also want to read the novellas, which are interspersed throughout the series:

  1. Destroy Me (2012) – Set between “Shatter Me” and “Unravel Me,” this novella is from Warner’s perspective, offering insights into his complex character.
  2. Fracture Me (2013) – Taking place during the events of “Unravel Me” and leading into “Ignite Me,” this novella is told from Adam’s point of view, providing a different perspective on the rebellion.
  3. Shadow Me (2019) – A novella that bridges “Restore Me” and “Defy Me,” told from Kenji’s perspective, focusing on his experiences and the developments in the group dynamics.
  4. Reveal Me (2019) – Another novella from Kenji’s viewpoint, setting the stage for the final book, “Imagine Me.”
  5. Find Me (2020) – This novella comes after “Defy Me” and before “Imagine Me,” continuing the story from Kenji’s and Warner’s perspectives.

Reading Order Including Novellas

For those who want to experience the series with added depth, including the novellas in your reading order can enhance your understanding and attachment to the characters:

  1. Shatter Me
  2. Destroy Me (Novella)
  3. Unravel Me
  4. Fracture Me (Novella)
  5. Ignite Me
  6. Restore Me
  7. Shadow Me (Novella)
  8. Reveal Me (Novella)
  9. Defy Me
  10. Find Me (Novella)
  11. Imagine Me

This comprehensive reading order will give you a full view of the “Shatter Me” universe, providing insights into the characters’ inner thoughts and unseen moments that enrich the main storyline.


What is the Shatter Me series about?

The Shatter Me series is a young adult dystopian fiction series written by Tahereh Mafi. It follows the story of Juliette, a girl with a lethal touch, navigating a world of tyranny and rebellion.

How many books are in the Shatter Me series?

As of now, there are six main books in the series: Shatter Me, Unravel Me, Ignite Me, Restore Me, Defy Me, and Imagine Me. Additionally, there are novellas and companion novels expanding the universe.

Who are the main characters in the Shatter Me series?

The main characters include Juliette Ferrars, Adam Kent, Warner, Kenji Kishimoto, and several others who play significant roles throughout the series. Each character brings depth and complexity to the storyline.

What genre does the Shatter Me series belong to?

The Shatter Me series primarily falls under the genres of dystopian fiction, young adult fiction, and romance. It blends elements of action, adventure, and suspense, creating a captivating narrative for readers of various interests.


Reading the “Shatter Me” series in the right order lets you follow the story and characters smoothly. Start with the main books, then dive into the novellas for deeper insights. This way, you get the full experience and understand the world better.

The TextoSpeech Online TTS tool is great for this series. It reads out the books, making it easy for you to enjoy them even when you’re busy with other tasks. It’s a handy tool to keep up with your reading.